How to read Navamsa Chart in Vedic Astrology

Navamsa chart

Navamsha chart is one of the many divisional charts in Vedic astrology. But Navamsa chart has been given huge importance. Prediction will become incomplete without reading navamsa chart. This chart is also called as D9 chart and is part of the Natal or Rasi chart (D1 chart). Natal chart is the main chart and represents surface level or physical aspect of life like what kind of environment we live, kind of family, amount of money we accumulate etc. Navamsa or D9 chart represents the attitude towards each of the circumstance, how we respond to positive and negative situations etc.

Navamsa chart is a microscopic view of the 9th house of the horoscope. Based on the individual position in the main chart, the planets contribute certain positive or negative energies onto the 9th house. This will be reflected in the navamsa chart.

9th house in a horoscope signify dharma, father, guru, luck, wisdom, prosperity, religious beliefs, worship etc. 9th house falls in dharma trikona (1-5-9) house. These houses deal with the fruits of the actions performed in previous births. It is a destiny house. If the lord of the 9th house and the planets in the 9th house are well positioned, then the luck will favour the native. He may encash the fruits of the actions without much effort.

(Also Read: Full details of 9th house in a Horoscope)

The navamsa chart can also be used to ascertain the strength of the planets. When planets are well positioned like exalted, own house, in friendly navamsa etc, then the planet is said to be in strength. The strength of the planets in navamsa chart can override that in the D1 chart. It is always better to have the planets in a good position in navamsa chart compared to rasi chart. The position of planets in navamsa chart is very important because it determines the attitude of the native towards any situation. For example, a person may possess huge fortune based on rashi chart. If the same planets which are responsible for giving the fortune are positioned very badly in navamsa chart, then that native may not enjoy that fortune. He may still find incomplete. On the other hand, the planets may not be in a great position in rashi chart, but they are in right places in navamsa chart. In this case, the native may not be thriving, however, he will be very happy and behave responsibly with others. This is the reason when a planet is exalted in navamsa in spite of being in a debilitated position in rashi chart, it is termed as ‘Neecha bhanga rajayoga’. (Read more on: Neecha-bhanga-rajayoga)

Overall, Navamsa chart can be looked at to establish the strength of the planets and other things like true potential, marriage, spouse, children, career etc. If you become expert in analyzing horoscope, you can predict everything from navamsa chart. For example, based on the dispositor of the 10th lord (of the natal chart) in navamsa, we can deduce the nature of the profession.

When a planet is in same sign in both rasi and navamsa, then the planet is called as ‘Vargottama planet’. This planet will be very beneficial to the native. Here the planet will be in very comfortable position. It will enhance the auspicious nature of the planet.

Why Navamsa chart is seen for marriage

7th house in the natal chart indicates marriage prospects, spouse etc. Logically, we should have considered D7 chart to study marriage. However, it is clearly mentioned in scriptures that D9 has to be used to study about marriage and spouse. On a surface level, marriage is a fulfillment of physical and social needs. That is the reason we have to see marriage prospects from 7th house of the D1 chart (it is the house of desire). But if you go deeper, marriage is associated with dharma and responsibility. Marriage is one of the sixteen samskaras mentioned in Hindu religion. One has to sacrifice many aspects of life like freedom etc.and responsible towards one’s spouse and children. The duty also involves procreation and preserving the lineage. Hence, navamsa chart has to be studied to analyze marriage and spouse.

(Read: All sixteen (Shodasha) samskaras)

Which planets to look for in Navamsa chart?

We have to look for all the planets in navamsa chart to determine the strength. However, in general, some of the important planets are lagna lord, 9th lord, atmakaraka, amatyakaraka etc. If one is analyzing specific aspect, then it is necessary to examine karaka and lord of that particular bhava like 10th lord for the profession, 5th lord for children etc.

As the Moon signifies mind, its position in navamsa chart also important. In Hinduism, the four purusharthas or goals (or aim) of a human being are Dharma (righteousness, moral values), Artha (wealth, prosperity), Kama (desires, pleasure) and Moksha (spiritual values, liberation). When Moon is in Agni (Fire), Prithvi (Earth), Vayu (Air) and Jala (Water) navamsas, the corresponding purushartha will be dharma, artha, kama and moksha respectively.

How to delineate Navamsa chart?

As you know, the span of one sign is equal to 30°. If we divide each sign into nine equal parts, it will be 3° 20’, which is equal to one nakshatra pada. Therefore, a planet could be in any of the nine navamsa based on its degree in the natal chart. When a planet is in movable sign, counting is done from itself. So if a planet is within 3° 20’ in Aries, then its placement in navamsa is Aries itself. If it is 29° in Aries, then it will move to Sagittarius in navamsa. When a planet is in fixed signs, then the counting is done from the ninth house therefrom. When a  planet is in a dual sign, then the counting is done from fifth house therefrom.

When a planet is in 1st pada of any nakshatra, the corresponding navamsa position will be Agni navamsa. If it is 2nd pada, it will be prithvi navamsa, if in 3rd pada, the navamsa position will be Vayu and if it is 4th pada, then it will be jala navamsa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *